Get Involved
donates
 
 
 
Upcoming Events
 
October 8, 12:00: Students are invited to a meeting to discuss proposed changes to our undergraduate curriculum. 
Geography & Environmental Studies

MSC 01 1110
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:
Bandelier West & East

Phone: (505)277-5041
Fax: (505)277-3614

Faculty

Melinda Harm Benson

J.D., University of Idaho Bandelier Hall West – Room 223

mhbenson@unm.edu

Interests: Environment and natural resource management; Adaptive management; Social/ecological systems

John N. Carr

Ph.D., University of Washington; J.D., University of Texas-Austin Bandelier Hall West – Room 201 

carrj@unm.edu 

Interests: Urban Geography; Globalization and Post Colonialism; Legal Geography; Critical Theory; Public Space and Culture; Activist Research Methods

Chris S. Duvall

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison Bandelier Hall West – Room 220 duvall@unm.edu

Interests: Biogeography; Cultural and historical ecology; African Diaspora; Food geography; Science studies

Scott M. Freundschuh

Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo Bandelier Hall West – Room 103  sfreunds@unm.edu 

Interests: Geographic Information Science, Spatial Cognition, Spatial Information Design, and Cartography

Constantine Hadjilambrinos

Ph.D., University of Delaware Bandelier Hall West – Room 212 

hadjilam@unm.edu 

Interests: Energy Resources, Environmental Policy, Science-Technology-and Society, Relationship between Culture and Nature

K. Maria D. Lane

Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin Bandelier Hall West – Room 224

mdlane@unm.edu

Interests: Historical Geography, Environmental Knowledge, Colonialism, American West and Southwest, Atlantic Basin, History and geography of science, History of Cartography, Legal Geography

Caitlin Lippitt

Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara and San Diego State University Bandelier Hall West – Room 219 

caitlippitt@unm.edu 

Interests: Biogeography, invasive species, remote sensing of vegetation, fire ecology, the role of disturbance in plant communities.

Chris Lippitt

Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara and San Diego State University Bandelier Hall West – Room 219 

clippitt@unm.edu 

Interests: Remote Sensing; Geographic Information Science; Time-Sensitive Geographic Information

Kim Seidler

M.A., University of New Mexico Bandelier Hall West – Room 207

kseidler@unm.edu

Interests: Land Use Management and Planning, Urban Geography, Human-Environment Interactions, Environmental Assessment

Danqing Xiao

Ph.D., University of California Santa Barbara Bandelier Hall West – Room 213 dxiao@unm.edu

Interests: Geographic Information Science (GISc), Spatial Cognition, Behavior Geography, Volunteered Geographic Information (VGI)

Paul A. Zandbergen

Ph.D., University of British Columbia Bandelier Hall West – Room 222

zandberg@unm.edu

Interests: Geographic Information Science (GISc); Spatial/statistical analysis techniques using Geographic Information Systems (GIS); Error and uncertainty in spatial data, error propagation modeling

 
 
 

Emeritus Faculty

Elinore M. Barrett Ph.D., University of California Berkeley @unm.edu
Bradley T. Cullen Ph.D., Michigan State University bcullen@unm.edu
Olen Paul Matthews Ph.D., University of Washington; J.D., University of Idaho opmatt@unm.edu
Stanley A. Morain Ph.D., University of Kansas @unm.edu
Rodman E. Snead Ph.D, Louisiana State University @unm.edu

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Stuart H. White
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Karl Benedict
Ph.D., University of New Mexico Bandelier Hall West – Room 107 kbene@edac.unm.edu
Harold E. Jackson
Ph.D., Colorado hjackson@unm.edu
Robert H. Julyan M.S., Cornell rjulyan@unm.edu
Deirdre Kann Ph.D., Purdue University dkann@unm.edu
William Krausmann Ph.D., University of Utah wkrausma@unm.edu
Zachary McCormick Ph.D., Oklahoma State University zmccormi@unm.edu
William Donald McTaggart Ph.D., Australian National University dmctagg@unm.edu
Paul Neville M.A., University of New Mexico @unm.edu