Get Involved
donates
Brad Cullen Grad Student Donations
 
Colloquium Series 2017
Our final Colloquium speaker of the semester will be Friday May 5th in bandelier hall East room 105 @ 3:00PM.  Our guest speaker Xi Gong with his talk “Exploring Associations between Environmental Risk Factors and Low Birth Weight”
 
 
 
Geography & Environmental Studies

MSC 01 1110
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:
Bandelier West & East

Phone: (505)277-5041
Fax: (505)277-3614

Affiliate Faculty

Craig Allen
Adjunct Professor

Research Ecologist, U.S. Geological Survey, Jemez Mountains Field Station
Email: craig_allen@usgs.gov           
Web: http://www.fort.usgs.gov/CAllen/     
Expertise: forest ecology and dynamics, place-based science
Daniel D. Arreola
Temp Parttime Faculty

Arizona State University, School of Geographical Sciences & Planning
Email: danieldarreola@unm.edu           
Web: https://isearch.asu.edu/profile/7490  
Expertise: cultural landscapes, place-making, Mexican-American borderlands
Karl Benedict 
Associate Professor: CULLS; Dir of Research Data Services: CULLS; Associate Professor
College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences
Email: kbene@unm.edu
Web: http://libguides.unm.edu/prf.php?account_id=27152
Expertise: information architecture, spatial data management 
Bob Berrens
Director: Water Resources Program; Professor: Economics Department ; Chairperson: Economics Department; Associate Professor: Geography

Department of Economics, Water Resources Program
Email: rberrens@unm.edu
Web: https://econ.unm.edu/people/Faculty/profile/robert-berrens.html
Expertise: environmental economics, water resources
David Correia
Associate Professor: American Studies Department; Associate Professor: Geography

Department of American Studies
Email: dcorreia@unm.edu
Web: http://www.unm.edu/~dcorreia
Expertise: environmental politics, law and violence, critical human geography, New Mexico and the U.S. Southwest
Jeff Erbig
Visiting Asst Professor: History; Assistant Professor: Geography
Department of History, University of New Mexico
Email: erbig@unm.edu
Web: www.jeffreyerbig.comhttp://spatialhumanities.unm.edu
Expertise: historical GIS, history of cartography, Latin America
Fred Gibbs
Assistant Professor: History Department; Assistant Professor: Geography
Department of History
Email: fwgibbs@unm.edu
Web: http://fredgibbs.net/about/
Expertise: interactive mapping + urban ecologies, historical GIS, food systems, public health
Moises Gonzalez
Assistant Professor: Sch Arch Planning Gen Admin
Community & Regional Planning Program
Email: mgonzo1@unm.edu
Web: http://saap.unm.edu/resource-center/sap-people/faculty-profiles/laura-harjo.html
Expertise: spatial planning, GIS
Laura Harjo
Assistant Professor: Community + Regional Planning, Assistant Professor: SAAP Commty Regional Planning Prg

Community & Regional Planning Program
Email: harjo@unm.ed
Web: http://saap.unm.edu/resource-center/sap-people/faculty-profiles/laura-harjo.html
Expertise: community development, GIS
Anne Jakle
Anne Jakle
Assoc Dir,NM EPSCOR: VPRED EPSCOR Administrative; Adjunct Assistant Professor: Geography

Associate Director, New Mexico EPSCoR
Email: ajakle@epscor.unm.edu 
Web: http://www.nmepscor.org/
Expertise: energy and enviornmental policy, renewable energy, natural resources management
Elizabeth Keller
Elizabeth Kistin Keller
Systems Analysis, Sandia National Laboratories; Adjunct Assistant Professor: Geography
Email: ejkisti@sandia.gov
Expertise: institutional resilience, transboundary conflict and
cooperation, water-energy-food nexus
Marcy Litvak
Associate Professor: AS Biology General Administrative
Email: mlitvak@unm.edu
Web: http://biology.unm.edu/core-faculty/litvak.shtml
Expertise: ecosystem ecology, effects of climate variability and disturbance
Bruce Milne
Department of Biology, Sustainability Studies Program
Email: bmilne@sevilleta.unm.edu
Web: https://biology.unm.edu/core-faculty/milne.shtml
Expertise: landscape ecology, biocomplexity, scaling, fractal geometry, percolation theory, sustainability
Tema Milstein
Department of Communication & Journalism 
Email: tema@unm.edu
Web: http://www.unm.edu/~tema/
Expertise: ecoculture, environmental communication, environmental meaning systems, ecological identity, nature tourism, transformative ecopedagogy
Frank Norris
Historian, National Park Service
Email: frank_norris@nps.gov
Web: www.nps.gov/ntir
Expertise: parks and protected areas, western history, national trails, Alaska
William Pockman
Professor: AS Biology General Administrative; Chairperson: AS Biology General Administrative; Associate Professor: Geography
Email: pockman@unm.edu
Web: http://www.unm.edu/~pockman/
Expertise: ecosystem ecology, plant distributions, climate change response
Caroline Scruggs
Assistant Professor: SAAP Commty Regional Planning Prg; Assistant Professor: Geography
Email: cscruggs@unm.edu
Web: http://saap.unm.edu/resource-center/sap-people/faculty-profiles/caroline-scruggs.html
Expertise: environmental policy, public health, sustainable development
Mark Stone
Associate Professor Department of Civil Engineering
Email: stone@unm.edu
Web: http://www.unm.edu/~stone/
Expertise: environmental flows, fluvial geomorphology, ecosystem services

Jennifer Thacher
Associate Professor: Economics Department; Graduate Director: Economics Department; Associate Professor: Geography
Email: jthacher@unm.edu
Web: https://econ.unm.edu/people/Faculty/profile/jennifer-thacher.html
Expertise: environmental economics, survey valuation
Marygold Walsh-Dilley
Honors College
Email: marygoldwd@unm.edu
Web:https://honors.unm.edu/about/people/faculty/marygold-walsh-dilley.html
Expertise: sociology of development, food and agricultural systems, indigenous politics