The Annual Murphy Lecture

Each fall, the Department of Geography & Environmental Studies hosts the Richard Murphy Memorial Lecture to highlight a prominent researcher. This lecture is funded through an endowment established in honor of the department’s first chairperson. Click here to view an interactive map of past Murphy Lecture speakers from 2011 to the present.

This Year's Lecture

More information about the 2023 Murphy Lecture will be posted here soon.


Past Murphy Lecturers: 

2022: Juanita Sundberg, University of British Columbia

2021: Park Williams, University of California-Los Angeles

2020: Leila Harris, University of British Columbia

2019: Leonardo Martinez-Diaz, World Resources Institute

2018: Eric Perramond, Colorado College

2017: Janet Franklin, University of California–Riverside

2016: Jeff Malpas, University of Tasmania

2015: Craig Allen, U.S. Forest Service–Los Alamos

2014: Sarah Elwood, University of Washington

2013: Harvey Miller, Ohio State University

2012: Paul Robbins, University of Wisconsin

2011: Alexander Murphy, University of Oregon